50 Word Fiction Competition Winners

50 Word Fiction Competition Winners

3rd Dec 14

Judging has now concluded for the AATE 50 Word Fiction Competition to celebrate AATE's 50th Anniversary in 2014. The competition was open to students in years 7-12, and to all ETA members.  Almost 900 entries were received from across Australia. Teachers were encouraged to involve their students by asking them to write an original short story of exactly 50 words on the theme 'Golden Stories'.  A Golden Stories Anthology will be published with the winners, finalists and highly commended entries (see below).

Winners have been announced!

Prizes have been awarded in three categories: Junior (years 7/8/9), Senior (years 10/11/12) and Masters - ETA/AATE members (teachers and pre-service teachers, Life Members, etc)

And the winners are:

Junior Category

1st Prize - Freya Cox, The Friends' School, North Hobart, Tas
​2nd Prize - Emily McKeown, Riverside Christian College, Maryborough, Qld
3rd Prize - Onor Nottle, Scotch College, Torrens Park, SA

Senior Category

1st Prize - Brittany Thompson, Aldridge State High School, Maryborough, Qld
Equal 2nd Prize - James Perkins, The Canberra College, Phillip, ACT
Equal 2nd Prize - Erin Jones, Mountain District Christian School, Monbulk, Vic
​3rd Prize - David Tighe, Coonabarabran High School, Coonabarabran, NSW

Masters Category

1st Prize - Patrick Wenholz, ACTATE
2nd Prize - Erin Geddes, ETAQ
3rd Prize - Elizabeth Hutchins, AATE

In addition to the prizes of Australian Book Association book vouchers, certificates have been issued to national finalists, highly commended, and to all those who entered this significant event. Student prizes and certificates have been mailed to class teachers for distribution.

No correspondence will be entered into regarding the judges' decision.

View the full list of winners, shortlisted and highly commended entries here (revised 19 December 2014).

Our sincere thanks to the judges of the competition who were faced with a massive task in selecting just a few winners out of so many worthy entries:

Erika Boas, TATE
Scott Bulfin, VATE
​Garry Collins, AATE
Daniel Fallon, ETAQ

Susan Gazis, ETANSW
​Adam Kealley, ETAWA
​Michelle Morthorpe, ACTATE
Graham Parr, VATE

​Ellen Rees, TATE
​Alison Robertson, SAETA
​Jane Ward, ETAWA


Golden Stories Anthology - order your copy online

Winners, national finalists and highly commended entries will be printed in a special 'Golden Stories' anthology which is also available for purchase online for $10 including postage.